One of my best pals in the multiple sclerosis world lives with some pretty aggressive numbness (and simply putting those two words together seems odd).  My own issues with numb sensations seem to see-saw between areas that go from numb to painfully hypersensitive in a flash. When this friend and I were at a program for men with MS, sponsored by the National MS Society, we both found out something very interesting, and a bit disheartening. There are “things” that can be done for most MS symptoms if not take them away, at least lessen them to some extent (for a while, perhaps).  Numbness, however, is something of a last stop on the sensory scale.  Once it’s numb, it is likely that the body has lost its ability to find another pathway to lend feeling back to that area. In one research study in which I served as subject, I was told that one area of my body that I didn’t even know was having sensitivity “issues” was not getting full signal from the brain and would one day, “exhibit significant sensory depletion.” Hmmmm, I still wonder if I wanted to know that. Today, this bright Monday in October, I open our conversation to the issue of numbness.  I would like to hear from you about your experiences with this symptom.  Did it come on suddenly or in stages? Is the lack of feeling a surmountable symptom or has it set you back? Our community always learns so much from our frank discussions on topics such as these, and I look forward to your comments. Wishing you and your family the best of health. Cheers, Trevis